DUI Dos And Don'ts In South Carolina

Six Things To Always Do

  1. Know the law. It is illegal to drive a vehicle if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher in the state of South Carolina. If you are under 21 years old, it is illegal to drive with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher. In South Carolina, it is possible to be charged with a DUI even if your BAC is under these amounts.
  2. Understand what is at stake. In South Carolina, you will face both criminal penalties in court and administrative penalties with the South Carolina DMV for a drunk driving charge and conviction.
  3. Understand implied consent. South Carolina has an "implied consent" law This means that if you drive here, you agree to take a chemical test if asked to do so by a law enforcement official. But, depending on your record and history refusing may be the better option for you. An attorney can advise you on when, if ever, you should refuse this test.
  4. Stay calm and follow instructions.
  5. Ask if you are unsure. Not sure if you are required to do what the officer asks? Then ask if you are being asked or commanded.
  6. Call an attorney. If you are arrested do not hesitate to call an experienced Myrtle Beach defense attorney right away.

Never Do These Three Things

  1. Do not volunteer any possibly incriminating information. Remember you never have to tell an officer where you were, or where you are going or if you had any alcohol. Unless the information requested is required by law, such as your license and insurance information, do not volunteer details. The details can often be used to arrest you and to charge you.
  2. Do not act aggressively. Officers must have probable cause to arrest you. Do not raise suspicion by acting aggressively or avoiding the officer. Acting this way can be considered "probable cause" and if threatening is cause for arrest.
  3. Do not put yourself at risk. If the officer is unreasonably aggressive ask to speak to the officer's supervisor.

Get Personal DUI Advice, Answers And Guidance

The best course of action can depend on your circumstances and your history. At Stampfle Law Firm, we will take all of this into consideration and advise you on your specific case. Call 843-353-6152 to schedule a free consultation with our attorney. You can also contact us online and we will get back to you quickly.

Attorney Ryan Stampfle serves DUI clients in Myrtle Beach, North Myrtle Beach, Horry County, Georgetown County and Conway County.